The first official World Cup was organized by WAFF and took place in Kaliningrad, Russia from 7th  to 14th October 2012. The competition was originally planned to be held in Japan. However, the venue was changed due to the April 2011 Fukushima earthquake.
Uzbekistan won the title for three consecutive times, defeating the sixth-time champions Russia in the final. Turkey became a bronze medalist before Argentina.
12 teams competed in Russia. Two teams from the original line-up withdrew (Brazil and France), they were replaced by Poland and Ukraine. 
Bronze medal match14 October 2012 Turkey 3 – 0 Argentina
Gold medal match14 October 2012 Uzbekistan 1 – 0 Russia
  • Argentina
  • El Salvador
  • England
  • Ghana
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Liberia
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan